There are currently 0 users and 0 guests online.
User login
Home | Forums | Play by Post | Pathfinder: The Carrion Crown
572 replies [Last post]
Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
A)  For purposes of aiding in

A)  For purposes of aiding in this encounter, I'd allow an intimidate check, Drogar.  Pick your shame carefully, though - it doesn't take a sense motive to realize these guys aren't just on a drunken dare.

B)  There are no rerolls for diplomacy on this one.  In fact, you don't even get a diplomacy check if you try to lower the coffin.  You're either focusing on this, or you let fate decide what happens next.

Since some of you have already tried diplomacy, I would highly recommend sticking to it.

 

I'll be honest here, guys - it's still possible to make this particular check, even with the unlucky base roll.  I've done the math.  However, to do so, *everyone* has to pitch in.  This is particularly due to Banakil's awesome halfling trait - if Banakil fails his aid check, you're done.

Finkswitch
Finkswitch's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
Since I failed, am I still

Since I failed, am I still able to aid Benkail? He's the only one I think has a chance...

Rastila
Rastila's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-23
Even with an aid, they're

Even with an aid, they're REALLY going to hate me. Oops.

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
How many of these do we get

How many of these do we get to do? I'm unsure of the rules about this, lute has a +3, so it could work. I'm just confused.

Lirriel
Lirriel's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
Well, from Nich's post

Well, from Nich's post above...

if Banakil fails his aid check, you're done.

Jackson Popcorn

Can always give it a try and post anyway, Darbie!

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
Ohh it was an aide check, not

Ohh it was an aide check, not a diplomacy check. I get it now!

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
I think the dice roller

I think the dice roller desires that we kill everyone in this town.

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
I suggest you all roll for

I suggest you all roll for initiative.

 

Remember: To put down the coffin safely, you all need to make a synchronized full-round action.

 

You can also keep carrying the coffin and try to fight that way, but you'll have limited mobility and won't be able to use 2-handed weapons.  Similarly, you can just let go of the coffin as well, but it won't be a gentle landing...

Finkswitch
Finkswitch's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
Before we get started can we

Before we get started can we clarify something? I believe the 4 tall people were carrying it, and the short people were walking along side with their hands on the coffin as they couldn't really reach. Am I correct in this? Either way, I suggest we give up a round to put down the coffin, and hopefully try not to kill anyone...

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
Ok, I googled roll for

Ok, I googled roll for initiative and it looks like Orin and lute need to roll again since they tied and had the same modifiers?

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
Fear the Eight.

I added a roll-off roll to my post. FEAR MY 8!

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
This is your fault, I was too

This is your fault, I was too afraid.

Lloyd
Lloyd's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-23
Due to FABISSIMO's NPC

Due to FABISSIMO's NPC status, he will be fighting a different group of the angry mob. You guys are on your own.

Rastila
Rastila's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-23
Where was that 17 when we

Where was that 17 when we were trying to convince them to stand down? *grumble*

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
As you're all lowering the

As you're all lowering the coffin, your initiative score as a whole is going to be equal to the slowest member of your team.  Thus, your rolls are going to determine who goes first within your party.  Unfortunately, since you're all lowering the coffin, you will not be able to act in the first round.

 

Obviously, Scoodles doesn't count and can act on the first round as normal.  So can Kendra.

 

Turn order is:

 

Thugs

Scoodles

Kendra

Oboe

Ariam

Banakil

Orin

Lute

CeeRee

 

Therefore, actual turns will be Thugs, Scoodles, Kendra, Drop coffin, Thugs, Scoodles Kendra Ariam, etc.  The thugs were darn quick, so only Ariam is not flat footed against the first attack (Scoodles is too, due to feats).

 

Edit:  On Review, Oboe specifically said he was grabbing a handle but is not helping with the lifting, so he will not need to lower the coffin.  The coffin *was* carried low enough to be carried by small characters, but it also had 7 bearers (Fabissimo forced his way in) when there's only room for 6.  Therefore, I'm going to rule that Oboe can have his turn on the first round.

Firie
Firie's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-12-23
Slowin' the whole team down!

Slowin' the whole team down!

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
By the way, the thugs were

By the way, the thugs were all hitting to do subdual damage.  If you don't know what that means, you might want to look it up.  :)

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
FYI, Kendra has placed

FYI, Kendra has placed herself in a perfect flanking position for the two thugs that are currently attacking Orin.  Anyone near the coffin that decides to engage those two can take the +2 to hit.

 

Also, I rolled 3 critical misses in a row for the farmers.  What was it Zokar was saying about bad luck?

Firie
Firie's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-12-23
That's if we engage instead

That's if we engage instead of finishing putting the coffin down, right?

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
I do believe that the coffin

I do believe that the coffin is now down, and that it is scoodles' turn.

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
I don't think so, Drogar, the

I don't think so, Drogar, the thugs just went and attacked, then Scoodles attacked, then Kendra, oboe has a free action. And for everyone else it is the first round and must be used for lowering the coffin providing we want to avoid embarrassment.

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
Actually maybe not, I'm not

Actually maybe not, I'm not sure.

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
You might be right. Nicholai,

You might be right. Nicholai, has the mob taken their second action, or is it their turn (everyone else is lowering the coffin during the first round)

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
The mob has not taken their

The mob has not taken their second action because it is Oboe's turn.  As I mentioned in my edited post, he specifically said he is not helping with the coffin - just hanging on to a ring without doing any lifting.  Therefore, he can act without impacting you guys who are carefully putting down the coffin.

 

After that, we'll start at the top again and you guys will be able to go on that round.

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
Ah, okay. I know it's

Ah, okay. I know it's tedious, but could you put at the end of each combat post who's action is next? Would be very helpful. :)

Nicholai
Nicholai's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
NO.   Well, maybe.  Would it

NO.

 

Well, maybe.  Would it be easier for you guys if I put that in the IC thread in brackets at the bottom or make a post in the OOC thread when it's someone's turn?

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
I'd say brackets in the IC

I'd say brackets in the IC thread. Keep the information consolidated, and the post spam low.

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
Yay, Scoodles is at half

Yay, Scoodles is at half health and didn't manage to take out anything!

Drogar
Drogar's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-18
He soaked a hit that could

He soaked a hit that could have severely inconvinienced anyone else.

Also subdual/nonlethal damage is a lot less of an issue. It knocks you out instead of killing you, and heals at 1/hour instead of 1/day.

Darlain
Darlain's picture
Offline
Joined: 2010-05-20
I'm not actually upset, I'm

I'm not actually upset, I'm just amused at how bumbling my first actions have been :p